Early morning is an excuse to be superficial.

Case and point about learning patience: the PUMA kit unveiling.

While a draft can be a largely textual experience, a kit unveiling is a largely visual experience. I have read very little about the kit unveiling that actually has any impact. Last year, at least, the skort was worth chatter and discussion. In fact, as boring as the kits were last year, the talk about the  skort and Chicago’s luck in not having a cookie-cutter jersey was more interesting than the videos or photos. Then, there was the buzz throughout the season about the keepers’ kits.

This year, I couldn’t tell you if there was anything worth talking about, because very little was said beyond the generic. The initial photos were blurry, and my first impression of the new kits was hardly, “Oh man, what a great job, PUMA!” From a blurry visual standpoint (which, let’s face it, is how most of us will be seeing these kits throughout the season) very little has changed. Maybe the cut is better, and maybe the small details have adjustments, but the only kits that really required unveiling were LA, Atlanta, and maybe Philadelphia. Sorry, LA, I still don’t care for your home kit. It does look better in crisper photos and touched up lighting, but as the only kit to “break the mold,” it doesn’t thrill me.

In women’s soccer, at least in the US, I think the best reaction we can hope to have with new kits is along the lines of “At least they didn’t change too much.” But that is probably an entry for the NCAA season. I want to get back to the patience and media topic, which was the whole reason I started this post.

So, patience. The photos posted to Twitter were pretty bad, although the effort was appreciated. The later, crisper photos tempered my initially negative reaction. The posting of video–which has been drawn out and belated–starts to make up for the disappointment. I sort of doubt that the ongoing trickle of media was intentional, but considering the kit unveiling wasn’t worth talking about for most teams, something needed to come of it. So if the primary function doesn’t work, it’s good to have the fallback.

I will say, based on the video, it was nice to see the tongue-in-cheekness of the “fashion show” this year. I don’t think the initial text and photos conveyed that very well. The players actually seemed to be having fun with the concept this year, which I think is something that needs to be shown. I have such an urge to launch into a feminist dissection of the kit unveiling/fashion shows in women’s sports that I will be cutting this entry short now.

Thanks, WPS, for not being too embarrassing in take two.  And thanks, PUMA, for not changing my favorite team’s kits too much.

Leave a Reply

