In which we have excitement, excuses, and exposition.

A couple weeks ago, my twitter feed was flooded with praise from WPS media folks for the All White Kit blog. So I am going to assume that you are all reading that, or at least aware of its existence and status within the community. I would hope that you have read the entry on the “89ers,” or will take the time to brush up on that and mull it over while I try to find the time to type up my response. I’m excited! Media and NCAA/YNT are two of my favorite topics, and micro-/counternarratives are my thing.

Unfortunately, I am coming up on the end of the semester here. I have a workshop draft due on Monday and a linguistics-oriented research paper due in two weeks. Not to mention that presentation for Computers and Writing and moving halfway across the country. Oh yeah, and the start of the WPS season. So my response is going to be late.

In the meantime, I have posted a lit review, which gives you an idea of where I am coming from when I address the All White Kit‘s points regarding narratives, “hype,” and the national team.

Leave a Reply

