I’m so glad I’m not alone.

Mostly. Or, at least I’m glad I’m not the only one to say it.  I mentioned it on the latest podcast, too, but I’ll say it here: I’ve been questioning the judgement of Emma Hayes.  Sure, some folks say they’ve been having bad luck, yet they seem to forget that this is the same mysterious “bad luck” we had last year. The dynamite of the Boston game seems to been more of a flashbang meant to stun supporters into thinking there’s nothing really wrong.

Whatever focus we might have had last year was gone when Tarpley was traded.  Yes, we needed a keeper and yes, Loyden was a great pick.  No, it is not her fault that Carney is recovering from surgery or that Rapinoe got cholera swine rubella mono.  But maybe it IS her job to tell Pinoe to NOT collect yellow cards the way Imelda Marcos collected shoes.  And maybe it IS her job to create a strategy that doesn’t let the opposing team run at the back four for 30 minutes at a time.

She’s not getting the job done for the Red Stars.  If this were the men’s game, conversations about sacking would have started at the first loss.  But Chicago staff and fans really like her.  I mean, I really like Hayes.  She seems like such a great person.  But lately, being a fan of the Red Stars is feeling more like a job and less like a joy.

2 Responses to I’m so glad I’m not alone.

  1. teamongolia says:

    “If this were the men’s game”

    Or if this were FC Gold Pride. The Fire Albertin Party is not dead, just sleeping.

    I feel your pain, though.

  2. Pingback: CRS to Hayes: Bye, bye, bye « The Cross-Conference Collector

Leave a Reply

