Notice how I talk about U-20 teams that are not the US.

As you might have noticed by now, when Canada isn’t in the World Cup picture, I pay attention to Mexico. I also pay attention to Australia and New Zealand, but since the Young Matildas got shafted in qualifiers (and the aftermath), I only have the Kiwis this year.

The Junior Ferns played one of two warm-up friendlies yesterday. They came from two down to earn a draw against Switzerland, which is encouraging. Their next “training match” will be against Japan on July 8.

I don’t know if we have any readers from New Zealand or the like, but I thought I would pass along that the Junior Ferns’ games will be live on Sky Sport.

Schedule copied and pasted for the lazy:

New Zealand v Sweden
Bielefeld
July 13 2.30pm local (12.30am July 14 NZT)
Live on Sky Sport

New Zealand v Korea DPR
Bielefeld
July 16 6pm local (4am July 17 NZT)
Live on Sky Sport

New Zealand v Brazil
Dresden
July 20 2.30pm local (12.30am July 21 NZT)
Live on Sky Sport

And here is your squad, complete with background notes and an injury report. I have so much envy for this writeup. Best of luck in the tournament!

Leave a Reply

