Pilots-Broncos Rivalry – Brittany Klein Interview

Brittany Klein

Starting off the Q&A email segments of the Portland-Santa Clara rivalry project is Santa Clara alum Brittany Klein. A two-year captain, Brittany played at midfield for the Broncos from 2004 through 2007. In 2009, she played for the Chicago Red Stars as well as in the WPS All-Star game. In 2010, she ended her season in Washington with the Freedom. Originally, we were going to interview her as a special episode for the podcast, but with a professional’s busy schedule, Brittany agreed to fill us in through email instead.

Were you aware of the Portland-Santa Clara rivalry before you picked your school?

Yes I was, and I actually visited both Santa Clara University and Portland before making my decision on where I would go to school.

Was the Portland-Santa Clara match-up ever a factor in pre-conference play?

While playing for Santa Clara each of my four years, Jerry made it very clear that we would focus on specific phases of our season as they came, from preseason to postseason.  While we were in preseason we focused on the specific goals we set for that particular phase.  Since we never came up against UP in preseason, we as players never gave that match-up too much thought until conference play began.  Although, everything we did leading up to conference play certainly had a purpose for our future match-ups.

What were your personal experiences of the games? Do any moments stand out?

When it came between UP and Santa Clara while I was playing for SCU, the home team got the win while at home.  In the four times I came up against Portland, we lost while playing at Portland twice and beat them twice at home.  I remember Jordan putting a few goals away at home our sophomore year, which was awesome! Also, the drummers from Portland came to Santa Clara when we played UP at home– that was the first day that our school allowed Santa Clara students to bring in “noise makers” into Buck Shaw during our game–from then on out our drummers were such great support. So I’d like to thank the infamous Portland drummers for coming all that way to pave the way for our school to support us in a louder way!

Do you talk about the rivalry with your Portland/Santa Clara teammates now?

When late October/early November rolls around I definitely have conversations with some of my former SCU teammates about the game that our alma mater will player vs. UP.  Also, I’ve played with some former UP players since college and have talked a bit about our rivalry and soccer programs with them.

What is your assessment of this year’s team? Any thoughts on this year’s game?

I was able to go out to see SCU play down at UCLA recently.  I see a fight in the team that may have been missing a few years back which is awesome.  Also, I am impressed with some of the younger talent and really think that they will contribute to the program’s success.

I haven’t seen Portland play for a few years, so I can’t comment too much on them, but I think it will be a battle out there, it usually is. SCU and UP tend to play similar styles of soccer and since they are playing each other towards the end of conference they will probably be playing pretty well as a team, or at least feel really comfortable with whatever they have found to be their strengths.


  • Were you aware of the UP-SCU rivalry before you picked your school?
Yes I was, and I actually visited both Santa Clara Univ. and UP before making my decision on where I would go to school.
  • Was the UP-SCU match-up ever a factor in pre-WCC play?
While playing for Santa Clara each of my four years, Jerry made it very clear that we would focus on specific phases of our season as they came, from preseason to postseason.  While we were in preseason we focused on the specific goals we set for that particular phase.  Since we never came up against UP in preseason, we as players never gave that match-up too much thought until conference play began.  Although, everything we did leading up to conference play certainly had a purpose for our future match-ups.
  • What were your personal experiences of the games? Do any moments stand out?
When it came between UP and Santa Clara while I was playing for SCU, the hometeam got the win while at home.  In the four times I came up against Portland, we lost while playing at Portland twice and beat them twice at home.  I remember Jordan putting a few goals away at home our sophomore year, which was awesome! Also, the drummers from Portland came to Santa Clara when we played UP at home– that was the first day that our school allowed Santa Clara students to bring in “noise makers” into Buck Shaw during our game–from then on out our drummers were such great support. So I’d like to thank the infamous Portland drummers for coming all that way to pave the way for our school to support us in a loader way!
  • Do you talk about the rivalry with your UP/SCU teammates now?
When late October/early November rolls around I definitely have conversations with some of my former SCU teammates about the game that our alma mater will player vs. UP.  Also, I’ve played with some former UP players since college and have talked a bit about our rivalry and soccer programs with them.
  • What is your assessment of this year’s team? Any thoughts on this year’s game?
I was able to go out to see SCU play down at UCLA recently.  I see a fight in the team that may have been missing a few years back which is awesome.  Also, I am impressed with some of the younger talent and really think that they will contribute to the program’s success.
I haven’t seen Portland play for a few years, so I can’t comment too much on them, but I think it will be a battle out there, it usually is. SCU and UP tend to play similar styles of soccer and since they are playing eachother towards the end of conference they will probably be playing pretty well as a team, or at least feel really comfortable with whatever they have found to be their strengths.
I love that we are playing the game at home! Maybe I’ll get a chance to come up to Santa Clara for that one.
Leave a Reply

